Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Board of Governors Elect Officers for 2018-2019 Term

Howard E. Seufer, Jr.
Kevin G. Zachary
Eddie J. Canterbury

Mount Gay, W.Va. - The Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Board of Governors has elected its officers for the 2018-2019 term. The officers were approved during the Board’s June 19 regular meeting.

Mr. Howard E. Seufer, Attorney with Bowles Rice LLP of Charleston, was elected Board Chair; Mr. Kevin G. Zachary, President and CEO of Logan Regional Medical Center, was elected Vice Chair; and Logan businessman, Mr. Eddie Joe Canterbury, was elected as Secretary.

In addition to Seufer, Zachary, and Canterbury, citizen members appointed by Governor Justice include J. Chris Adkins, Latisha ‘Tish’ Marcum, Samuel Stewart, Pat Joe White, Mason ‘Ed’ White, and Wilma Zigmond. Southern's institutional members include William Alderman II (faculty representative), Timothy Ooten (classified staff representative), and Cherri M. Stroud (student representative).

"We have an outstanding Board that truly understands the mission of community colleges, and our focus on providing blended educational opportunities and training for students of all ages," Southern President, Dr. Robert Gunter, said.

The 12-member Board of Governors is the governing body of Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College. Of the 12 members, nine are citizen members appointed by the governor, and three are institutional members elected by the constituent group they represent ─ faculty, classified staff, and the student body. Members of the Board of Governors work cooperatively with the college president and administration to establish institutional governance and strategic planning.

Southern is a member institution of the Community and Technical College System of West Virginia and is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.