Latest Southern News

Attorney General Darrell McGraw Awards Funding to Southern

Attorney General Darrell McGraw today announced the distribution of $60,000 to the Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College. This money comes from the third installment in the $10 million dollar settlement with PurduePharma, the manufacturer of the drug Oxycontin.

This funding will go to support the Southern West Virginia Communityand Technical College's School of Nursing...

Students at Mingo County High School Business Symposium

Mingo County High School Business Symposium

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical hosted the first annual Mingo County High School Business Symposium on March 9 at the Williamson Campus. Students from Burch, Gilbert, Matewan and Williamson competed as mall developers by creating their own management team, business advertising, and financial plan.

The winning business concept was White Flag Lazer Tag created by Jon...

Youth Day in Williamson

Williamson Youth Day

Dramatist Illene Evans portrayed Harriet Tubman (1820-1913) on Monday as Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College kicked off Harmony Week 2007 at the National Guard Armory in Williamson. Nearly 500 students from Matewan, Williamson, Riverside and Kermit enjoyed a presentation of "The Underground Railroad Life and Times" by Evans. Tubman, also known as General Moses, was a field...

Civil Rights Award 2007

Director of Development Ronald E. Lemon; Southern President Joanne Jaeger Tomblin; Civil Rights Award Recipient Willene Hairston Moore; Williamson Campus Director Rita Roberson; and Williamson Branch NAACP President John W. Fullen are pictured following a reception on September 9th at the Logan Street Baptist Church. Mrs. Moore was honored for receiving the West Virginia Civil Rights Award...

Carl Baisden Speaking to the Tug Valley Mine Institute

Tug Valley Mine Institute

Safety, technology, and training a new generation of workers for the modern coal industry was the focus of a presentation given by Carl E. Baisden, director of the Academy for Mine Training and Energy Technology at Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College during Thursday night's Tug Valley Mine Institute dinner held at The Brass Tree.

Baisden, who has over 20 years...

Southern Announces New CFO

Sam Litteral, a former resident of Chapmanville, West Virginia has been named as Chief Financial Officer for Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College.

Litteral has over twenty years of finance and accounting experience. He has four years of higher education experience during which he served as Controller/Financial Systems Reporting Officer at Concord University in Athens,...

Southern Announces Major Gifts Campaign, Vison 2020

Southern President Joanne Jaeger Tomblin was presented with a check for $500,000 from James H. "Buck" Harless, the campaign's honorary chair, during a kickoff celebration held on September 7, 2006.

The campaign has already raised $3.6 million toward a goal of $20 million by the year 2020. The announcement of the new Academy for Mine Training and Energy Technologies was also made to a...

Pardee Resources Company Scholarships for 2006

Logan, WV - The Southern West Virginia Community College Foundation has announced the four recipients of the Pardee Resources Company scholarships for 2006, according to Ron Lemon, director of development at Southern.

The students selected and the county in which they reside are: Timothy Shane Queen, Boone County; Justina M. O'Neal, Wyoming County; Rebekah Lynn Maxwell, Logan County;...

Pamela Alderman Re-Applointed to WV Board of Registered Professional Nurses

Charleston, WV - Pamela L. Alderman, Vice-President and Dean of Allied Health at Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College has been re-appointed to serve a third consecutive term as President of the West Virginia Board of Registered Professional Nurses.

Alderman was first appointed to the Board in 1999 by Governor Cecil Underwood for a five year term.  She was re-appointed...