Information and resources regarding SWVCTC and the COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

About Us

Southern West Virginia Community College was established as an independently accredited, comprehensive community college on July 1, 1971, through the consolidation of two existing branches of Marshall University.  These branches, located in Mingo and Logan Counties, had been in operation under Marshall’s direction since 1963 and provided the first two years of liberal arts and teacher education, as well as career programs in secretarial science and radiologic technology.  In 1971 these two locations became the first two campuses of Southern when it became an independently accredited institution of higher education.  It was also in 1971 that Southern’s first building was completed in Williamson.