Skip to main content

Institutional Governance System

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College (Southern) has established a decision-making system based on consultative governance.  This system provides for participation by, and consultation with, representative constituents  from the College.  Constituents of the College include administrators, faculty, classified staff, students, and district residents.

Southern has defined consultative governance as a collaborative process that involves representatives from the College working in a climate of mutual trust and respect.  These representatives gather and share information related to significant issues and work toward decisions on those issues in accordance with the mission, vision, purposes, and values of the College.  Governance-related interaction among constituent groups provides the balance of stability and change necessary for the advancement of the College.

Governance Standing Committees

  1. Assessment Committee
  2. Curriculum and Instruction Committee
  3. Enrollment Management Committee
  4. Executive Council
  5. Facilities and Safety Committees
  6. Management Council of Academics and Student Services
  7. Quality Integrated Services Committee
  8. Strategic Planning and Financial Review Committee
  9. Technology Committee

Administration Committee

  1. President's Cabinet

Governance Council and Senate Committees

  1. Classified Staff Council
  2. Faculty Senate

Governance Advisory Committees

  1. Faculty Promotion Committee
  2. Financial Exigency Committee
  3. Student Government Association Committee