Information and resources regarding SWVCTC and the COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

Classified Staff Council

Southern’s Classified Staff Council (CSC) is an elected body whose purpose is to represent classified staff, to consider and recommend policy regarding staff welfare, and become an avenue to voice staff suggestions and concerns.

What We Do

The function of the Classified Staff Council is to:

  • Support Southern’s effort in accomplishing its mission and vision
  • Review and make recommendations regarding institutional policies and procedures
  • Provide representation to the college and professional organizations
  • Provide professional development opportunities for classified staff
  • Address issues of concern involving classified staff individually or collectively
  • Bring concerns of classified staff to the attention of the college community, administration, and the Board of Governors
  • Stimulate and strengthen the morale and employee satisfaction of classified staff

Officers and Committee Members

Chair:  Kim Maynard, Director of Libraries II – Logan 304.896.7345,

West Virginia Advisory Council of Classified Employees (WVACCE) Representative:

Shelly Stewart, Student Communications Specialist,


Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College

Board of Governors Representative:

Chris Gray, Bursar,


Primary Occupational Activity (POA) Representatives:

Service/Craft/Maintenance – Scott Pritchard 304.896.7352,

Service/Craft/Maintenance – Mark Bowens 304.236.7647

Secretarial/Clerical/Office   – Brittany Fekete 304.896.7333

Secretarial/Clerical/Office   – Patty Brooks 304.294.2001 

Professional/Non-Faculty   – Angie Dotson 304.896.7330

Professional/Non-Faculty   – Judy Slazo 304.896.7367 

Technical/Paraprofessional – Matthew Hatfield 304.236.7611

Technical/Paraprofessional – Lee Stroud 304.896.7370

Administrative/Managerial – (vacant-all POA members on CSC)

Administrative/Managerial – Dianna Toler 304.896.7315 

Campus Representatives:

Logan Campus – Cassandra Goble 304.896.7373 

Williamson Campus  – Ruby Runyon 304.236.7650

Boone/Lincoln Campus – Anna Evans 304.307.0708

Wyoming Campus  – Michael Hunter  304.294.2006

Recorder: Shelly Stewart, Student Communications Specialist, 304.236.7619

Other Governance Committee Representatives

Financial Exigency Committee:

Patricia Brooks, 304.294.2001,

Anna Evans, 304.307.0708,

Standing Governance Committee Representatives

Strategic Planning and Financial Review Committee:

Sammi Dodrill 304.896.7346

Cassandra Goble 304.896.7373


Professional Development Sub-Committee:        

Purpose – To review applications for professional development funds from classified staff employees requesting specific training assistance. Any Classified Staff member needing assistance with educational-professional development costs should submit a completed application to the committee Chair. Applications can be found HERE.

Chair – Kim Maynard   304.896.7345,

Logan Campus Rep — Cassandra Goble 304.896.7373 

Williamson Campus Rep — Ruby Runyon

Boone/Lincoln Campus Rep — Anna Evans

Wyoming Campus Rep – Michael Hunter


Southern Samaritans

Purpose – To provide funding assistance to classified employees who have been affected by serious or catastrophic events such as illness, flooding or fire. Funding requests may be submitted by email to any committee member with the name of the employee in need and a description of the situation.

Chair –  Cassandra Goble 304.896.7373

Hallmark Sub-Committee

Purpose – To honor employees by sending cards on their special days such as birthdays or new arrivals to their families and condolences during the loss of a loved one. Submit event information by email to any committee member.

Chair – Patty Brooks

Logan Campus Rep – Angela Dotson 

Williamson Campus Rep – Anita Messer

Boone/Lincoln Campus Rep – Vacant

Wyoming Campus Rep – Patty Brooks


Website Sub-Committee

Purpose – This committee’s purpose is two-fold. It is to:

  • educate and inform internal and external customers about the functions of Southern’s classified staff in service to our students, faculty, staff, and community via Southern’s website and
  • provide classified staff members easy access to pertinent information, forms, policies and resources.

Chair – Lee Stroud

Kim Maynard


Legislative Sub-Committee

Purpose – To monitor current state bills and legislative committee activity of interest to and/or affecting classified staff and provide regular updates.


ACCE Rep – Shelly Stewart

BOG Rep – Chris Gray

Meeting Minutes

Holiday Calendar

Contact CSC

For information relating to Southern’s classified staff, please contact

Donna Lafferty, Recorder

Phone: 304.294.2002


Classified Staff Constitution